Trending in Your Area

Grow Goodness When You Plant an Edible Garden >

Reduce Your Home's Stormwater Runoff >

3 Garden Paths to Create This Weekend >

Make a Dry-Laid Stone Walkway >

Vacation Is Over. Bring Houseplants Inside. >


About the South Florida Region

South Florida includes Miami-Dade, Broward, and Palm Beach counties, the Keys and the Gulf Coast below Tampa. The tropical climate has two primary seasons: the wet season from June-October, when 70% of the year’s rain falls, and the dry season from November-May. Rainfall averages 50-70 inches annually. South Florida’s soil is rock, sand, marl and muck. The rock soil, known as Miami limestone, is high in pH, so acid-loving plants do not fare well.


Find your area using our map.